Home      INSTICC Portal
Call for Papers

KMIS is sponsored by INSTICC – Institute for Systems and Technologies of Information, Control and Communication

Knowledge Management (KM) is a discipline concerned with the analysis and technical support of practices used in an organization to identify, create, represent, distribute and enable the adoption and leveraging of good practices embedded in collaborative settings and, in particular, in organizational processes. Effective knowledge management is an increasingly important source of competitive advantage, and a key to the success of contemporary organizations, bolstering the collective expertise of its employees and partners.
There are several perspectives on KM, but all share the same core components, namely: People, Processes and Technology. Some take a techno-centric focus, in order to enhance knowledge integration and creation; some take an organizational focus, in order to optimize organization design and workflows; some take an ecological focus, where the important aspects are related to people interaction, knowledge and environmental factors as a complex adaptive system similar to a natural ecosystem.
Information Sharing (IS) is a term used for a long time in the information technology (IT) lexicon, related to data exchange, communication protocols and technological infrastructures. Although standardization is indeed an essential element for sharing information, IS effectiveness requires going beyond the syntactic nature of IT and delve into the human functions involved in the semantic, pragmatic and social levels of organizational semiotics.
The two areas are intertwined as information sharing is the foundation for knowledge management. KMIS aims at becoming a major meeting point for researchers and practitioners interested in the study and application of all perspectives of Knowledge Management and Information Sharing.

Conference Topics

› Metadata and Structured Documents
› Digital Libraries
› Best Practices & Communities of Practice
› Business Intelligence & CRM
› Communication, Collaboration and Information Sharing
› Interoperability
› Information Security
› Impact Measurement of Knowledge Management
› Tools and Technology for Knowledge Management
› Knowledge Management Projects
› e-Learning, e-Training and Executive Training
› Organizational Memories
› Organizational Semiotics
› Learning Organization & Organizational Learning
› Content Management & Digital Rights Management
› Intelligent Information Systems
› Social Networks and the Psychological Dimension
› Intellectual Capital
› K-Economy, K-Community and K-Enterprise
› Studies, Metrics & Benchmarks
› Innovation Facilitation
› KM Strategies and Implementations

Keynote Speakers

Oscar Pastor, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Alain Bernard, Ecole Centrale de Nantes, France


All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and on CD-ROM support.
Papers presented at the conference venue will be available at the SciTePress Digital Library.
A short list of presented papers will be selected so that revised and extended versions of these papers will be published by Springer-Verlag in a CCIS Series book.
The proceedings will be submitted for indexation by Thomson Reuters Conference Proceedings Citation Index, INSPEC, DBLP and EI.


The conference was held at the Hotel Sidi Saler, Valencia, Spain.
The Hotel is situated right next to the beach, near the Albufera Nature Park and Lake. It is surrounded by pine forests and offers a unique environment in which you can relax, walk, jog or enjoy bicycle riding.
The Sidi Saler is located just 21 km from the airport and 15 km from Valencia, a modern and dynamic city with a beautiful historic centre.

Program Chair

Kecheng Liu, University of Reading, U.K.

Program Committee

Marie-Helene Abel, HEUDIASYC CNRS UMR 6599, University of Compiègne, France
Miriam C. Bergue Alves, Institute of Aeronautics ans Space, Brazil
Bernd Amann, LIP6 - Pierre and Marie Curie University, France
Ioannis Anagnostopoulos, University of the Aegean, Greece
Timothy Arndt, Cleveland State University, United States
Aurelie Aurilla Bechina Arnzten, University of Bruskerud, Norway
Sandra Begley, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Eva Blomqvist, ISTC-CNR, Italy
Nunzia Carbonara, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
Badrish Chandramouli, Microsoft Research, United States
Ying Chen, IBM Almaden Research Lab, United States
Reynold Cheng, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
David Cheung, University of Hong Kong, China
Dominique Decouchant, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico
Mariagrazia Dotoli, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
Zamira Dzhusupova, United Nations Univesrity Institute for Software Technology, Macau
Alptekin Erkollar, Yeditepe University, Austria
Vadim Ermolayev, Zaporozhye National University, Ukraine
Marco Falagario, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
Joan-Francesc Fondevila-Gascón, CECABLE (Centre d'Estudis sobre el Cable), Spain
Anna Goy, University of Torino, Italy
Felix Hamza-Lup, Armstrong Atlantic State University, United States
Jan Hidders, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Carlos Arturo Raymundo Ibañez, Universidad Privada Antenor Orrego, Peru
Anca Daniela Ionita, University "Politehnica" of Bucharest, Romania
Elise Lavoué, IAE Lyon - University Jean Moulin Lyon 3, France
Chengkai Li, University of Texas at Arlington, United States
Peter Maher, Webster University, United States
Sonia Mendoza, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico
Christine Michel, INSA-Lyon, Laboratoire LIESP, France
Taneli Mielikainen, Nokia, United States
Owen Molloy, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
Ana Marlene Freitas de Morais, Institute of Aeronautics and Space, Brazil
Fei Nan, Cisco, United States
Odysseas Papapetrou, L3S Research Center and University of Hannover, Germany
Marina Ribaudo, Universita' di Genova, Italy
Luis Anido Rifón, Universidade De Vigo, Spain
Waltraut Ritter, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
John Rohrbaugh, University At Albany, State University of New York, United States
Manas Somaiya, University of Florida, United States
Hiroyuki Tarumi, Kagawa University, Japan
Paul Thompson, Dartmouth College, United States
Ricardo da S. Torres, University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil
Christopher Turner, Cranfield University, United Kingdom
Maggie Minhong Wang, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Leandro Wives, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Lugkana Worasinchai, Bangkok University, Thailand
Nan Zhang, The George Washington University, United States
Ying Zhao, Naval Postgraduate School, United States
Yongluan Zhou, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark